Christian · Fashion · Music · singer/songwriter · women

“Refine” Album & Photoshoot

Hey all,

Sorry I have not written a blog in a fairly long time, I’ve been keeping pretty busy because I just put out my first full length album! “Refine” features 10 original worship songs written by myself and one with the help of my brother, Jared Coats. The drive and support from my vision for this album was to create a piece that would show the vulnerability and simplicity of these original worship songs in their truest form. I wanted to keep the album simple, mainly piano and acoustic driven, in order to let the songs speak for themselves.

One my favorite parts about the album is that all of the piano tracks were recorded from a beautiful ‘Young Chang’ grand piano, which I played live at my classical piano teacher’s house. Many of the tracks are also layered with ambient pads, acoustic guitars, and more to emphasize the worshipful lyrics. Several of these songs have remained popular with the congregation of my home church and with our worship ministry at Family First in Spring Hill, FL for quite a few years. “Spirit I Come”, “Unveil Yourself”, “Greater Things”, and “Be Still” are among the memorable tracks, and favorites if you will, from this album.

While we were prepping for the album, I had many firsts and exciting things going on! I had a friend of mine, Caleb Kenney, help me make a website – which I never dreamed I could be legit enough to have a website lol. But he did an amazing job!! Check it out here:

http://www.meredithhobbsmusic.com

Also, my talented husband photographer and I had a fun photoshoot to have pictures for promotion as well as for the cd artwork. So you can see lots of those pictures on the website and on my Facebook. But I have uploaded a few of my favorites on the blog for you to check out!

In these photos, I am wearing a gray Ralph Lauren dress (a little longer than a t-shirt dress), which I got at TJ Maxx,  with black Sonoma wedges (from Kohl’s). I’m also wearing a gold necklace and other accessories from Charming Charlie’s, as well as a black hat from Target. I loved the simplicity yet fashion forward look of my this outfit, which I thought paired with my album and my music quite nicely.

Lastly, and one of my other favorite things about the album, is that the cover art was a watercolor painting designed by my talented friend and protege, Jacyn Pacheco. She did an amazing job, and as soon as I saw this painting of a piano, I knew it was just perfect for the album and it’s theme!

Thanks for checking this out! You can buy the album, “Refine”, here on iTunes! And you’ll be hearing more from me very soon!

https://itunes.apple.com/us/album/refine/id1165303673

mer7mer8mer9pianoalbumcovermerdithstyle-01

 

Leave a comment