church · Fashion · women

Sunday Best #2

Good afternoon!

I apologize for going a few weeks without posting; it’s been a crazy time of year! Summertime has been fun but so very busy, I’m looking forward to getting back into a routine into writing more as soon as fall begins to start.

Today I want to share briefly about some more thoughts on the importance of your ‘Sunday Best’. As I mentioned in my last post, I think creating a first impression for many at church is not something we should readily overlook. For me, dressing my best isn’t just for a person though – it’s to honor my Father God. He deserves my best, and whether that’s jeans and a nice shirt or an elegant dress, I want to be seen as His representative so I will look the part. EVERYTHING we do, as His children, should point others to our heavenly Father. So that being said, how come we overlook that when it comes to fashion?

Something I want to dive into today is how our clothing should be modest, not to focus on the negative aspects of legalism, but to focus our attention on pointing others to God and not to ourselves. With so many styles, colors, preferences that people have for their own style it can be easy to go ‘overboard’ for certain occasions. Let me say it this way, if people can’t get past the clothes you are wearing, they will never listen closely to the message you are saying. They’ll be focused on the message you are sending nonverbally, rather than the message you are actually trying to say verbally. I’m not telling you to dress plain by any means, I love when people have their own flare and style. But I’m just advising you to be aware of the message that your outfit may be sending before wearing that in a place where all eyes are on you. So often we don’t realize the platform that we have, not even a physical platform, but the power that your influence holds in someone else’s life. Don’t underestimate it and don’t take it lightly. There are people, who are looking at you to shine a light in their life, so don’t lead them astray by wearing something you would be embarrassed of.

For example, in a church setting on a Sunday morning I usually wear solid colors or outfits with a not-so-crazy print because I am on stage; I want people to see me but not necessarily focus on me. Have you ever heard the analogy of a really bad car accident looking so terrible, but somehow you just can’t look away? Sometimes that’s how I feel our outfits could potentially look on stage. If you are on a fashion runway, than absolutely go for it and let your outfit steal the show! But at church on a Sunday morning, my outfit should not be the center of attention. I want to be presentable and honorable, but I don’t want to look like I’m literally trying to ‘out fashion’ others by wearing the latest trend or craziest thing I could find in my closet. That’s like trying to be somebody called a ‘one-upper’; we all know those people who try to one-up someone else’s experience, story, newest purchases, etc. Keep others in mind when you pick out your outfits, not just your personal preferences.

For my personal style, this is pretty easy for me to follow through with because naturally I prefer darker colors and a minimalistic look, but if that’s not necessarily your style then just remember to double check yourself before leaving the house. Keep others in mind whenever you are getting dressed for certain occasions. Sometimes the things we put in our outfits are just as important as the things you don’t put with your outfits.

Thanks for reading my thoughts on modesty and Sunday Best fashion! Here are some of my examples:

  1. This outfit is from 2 weeks ago on a Sunday morning. This beautiful printed skirt is from Bealls Department Store (I’ve had it forever but recently got it altered to fit me better!) I paired it with a tie shirt from Charming Charlie’s that I got on clearance! Here my heels are black wedges from Belk. I seriously love these shoes. This outfit was appropriate, comfortable, and fashionable but not over the top.
7-13skirt
Example 1
skirt7-192
Example 1

 

2. This is an outfit that I wore at youth camp on the last night of services. I had such a blast with our Alive Youth and our students are so hungry for God, it was amazing. Here are a few pictures of our fashionable teens and me. Love these girls so much! Jacyn did Vivian and I’s make-up also in these pics, so props to her!

fashioncamp 1
Example 2
fashion camp2
Example 2

Here I am wearing a long striped shirt that I picked up at the thrift store from an off-brand, but I love the way it looks and feels on. It is extremely versatile. The red skinny jeans I got as a hand-me-down from a friend, but they are Rockin’ Republic from Kohl’s. The wedges are black Sonoma heels from Kohl’s also.

  1. The last example I have today is an outfit I wore this past Sunday morning and I absolutely loved it! I had never paired these pieces together before, but sometimes that’s when you have your best fashion days! The top is a sheer navy ¾ sleeve shirt (also a hand-me-down) with a beautifully striped, knitted detail in the front. The pants are dark green skinny jeans from H & M, which have literally the coolest lined detail on the kneecaps, if you look closely. The boots I got as a gift from my mother-in-law from her PX store on the base in Tampa. I love the brown color of the boots, their comfort, and the cool zippers and chains that add extra detail. I also paired this outfit with these gold bangle bracelets from Kohl’s.
7-19
Example 3
shirt7-19
Example 3 Shirt Details
pants7-19
Example 3 Pants Details
boots7-19
Example 3 Boots Details
bracelet7-19
Example 3 Bracelets Details

Hope you enjoyed this post! Stay tuned for more to come!! 🙂

 

Leave a comment